Happy Thanksgiving from the Virginia Hemophilia Foundation (VHF)!

We are giving thanks to you for your support in 2022. Your donations, volunteer hours and attendance at events made a big impact and enabled us to deliver over 25 educational programs with strong attendance and excellent speakers.

And because of YOU the following are just a few examples of the many highlights we have to celebrate as a community from this past year:

Awareness was raised during our March Bleeding Disorders Awareness Month (BDAM) campaign. You donated over $2,800 toward the BDAM campaign and helped us to surpass our original goal of $2,000.

Because of the funds from the BDAM campaign the VHF Lyman Fisher scholarship committee voted to extend the scholarship award from two to six! Congratulations to the Lyman Fisher Scholarship Winners – Seth Boucher, Paxton Calder, Olivia Laubscher, Jackson Spasojevich, Levi Walker, and Wade Wickline.

VHF received the Member Organization Spotlight Award at this year’s Hemophilia Federation of America’s (HFA’s) Symposium award ceremony – we are thrilled by this recognition and are continuously grateful for the opportunity to serve the bleeding disorders community.

Seven VHF constituents headed to Washington, DC for the National Hemophilia Foundation’s (NHF’s) Building the National Research Blueprint (NRB) – SME Workshop. VHF attendees included women who had participated in the NHF State of the Science Research Summit, as well as board members. It was a great opportunity to learn more about NHF’s work on developing a blueprint to move research forward into the next decade and how to engage community members in those discussions.

The VHF Terry Lamb Enrichment Scholarship was given to Soren Johnson to help assist on a college trip to NYC in conjunction with his college major.

And because of YOU we surpassed our goal and raised $35,690 for Unite For Bleeding Disorders! A big congratulations to our Top Team fundraising winners –
1st place: Star City Bleeders with top fundraisers Colin Davidson and Matthew Lee
2nd place: Severe With No FEAR! with top fundraiser Zack Bordone
3rd place: Team Lukasz with top fundraiser Monika Eiden
4th place: Team Stone with top fundraiser George Stone

Thank you again for all you do!