The board of directors is the governing body of VHF. Board members meet periodically to discuss and vote on the affairs of the organization, to support the work of VHF, and to provide mission-based leadership and strategic governance. Board terms align with our fiscal year and begin on July 1st. Go here to learn more.


2022-2023 VHF Board of Directors –
Debbie Baugher
Tahnee Causey
Tory Gilliam – Secretary
Murai Johnson
Vivek Kshetrapal
Kathy Mortimer – President
Don Smith – Treasurer
Amy Walker – Vice President


We would like to highlight the board members that rotated off this past year – thank you for your service Kate Breitbeil, Sarahbeth Spasojevich, Sarah Waniewski, and Megan Whiteaker.


Let’s extend a warm welcome to our newest board members – Tahnee Causey and Amy Walker.
Tahnee Causey i
s employed by VCU Health and works as a Genetic Counselor and Program Director. Given the growing number of clinical trials in gene therapy and the role of genetic counselors serving as patient advocates, we are excited to have her join us on the board. She has really enjoyed working with the pediatric and adult bleeding disorders community as a genetic counselor and has had the chance to speak at some VHF events, including a new parents meeting, an annual meeting, a woman’s night out event, ad our medical symposium in 2020. She is looking forward to serving on the VHF Board and giving back to this community.
Amy Walker is a Registered Nurse and was the VHF volunteer of the year in 2019. She has also served as nurse during Camp Youngblood, Program Committee Chair, and a Unite for Bleeding Disorders Walk team captain. In addition, she has nonprofit board experience with the Home Educators Recreation and Enrichment organization. Her familiarity with the bleeding disorders community and the health care system makes her a great fit for the VHF board and her new role as VP.
Please reach out to if you have any questions about the board of directors or board service or go here to learn more!